August 26, 2010

In Respects for Satoshi Kon, 47

Posted in Anime tagged at 4:43 pm by meotwister5

I could literally just pile this post up with obituary praise for the man and the amazing things he has done for the medium, even if it were only one series and a few movies, but I won’t.  I’ve looked around and I’ve seen that the internet has done it’s job in speaking about the man that any superlative praise from me is going to sound redundant and opportunistic of the event that has transpired the other day.

I’ve posted in forums about it before, but you cannot really blame the doctors or medicine itself for not diagnosing his condition earlier.  Pancreatic adenocarcinoma is one of the deadliest cancers known to man, with 5 year survival rate of 5%-10% at the time of diagnosis, making it the 4th leading cause of cancer death in the world (Pathologic Basis of Disease, 8th ed.).  It is an indolent disease that progresses and spreads silently, almost always only becoming clinically detectable when it has overwhelmed the pancreas and has metastasized to adjacent abdominal structures.  By that time… well… it’s practically too late.  There are no real laboratory tests yet developed to accurately detect it.  There are no therapeutic procedures considered to be curative.  For the most part, it’s palliative, just waiting for the end to come.

His final words were just a few days before he died, but out of respect and redundancy (you can find it around the net) I won’t post them anymore.  Instead, I’ll put up a quote from Millenium Actress that I think really described the way he wanted to leave this world after I read his testament:

It won’t appear tomorrow, but I like This moon better. After the full moon begins to wane. But after fourteen nights, starting tomorrow, I hope to see it again. I gotta go. – Man of the Key.

I think this described the man perfectly.

Leave a Reply

