July 2, 2010

The way I do things…

Posted in Anime at 9:15 pm by meotwister5

I actually just realized something.  Most people tell me that the usual anime blog tend only to be like summaries and mini-reviews for the shows they blog about and really nothing more.  I’m not criticizing the way most blogs do things, though it’s one of the reasons I don’t really read blogs in the first place.

In my case however, this really isn’t my style.  If anyone’s ever read my posts in the forums I go to, I never really summarize the stuff I watch.  Probably due to my own nature and my medical education, I tend to be analytical rather than critical of things.  Rather than rate shows based on criteria, I try to understand why they are the way they are, and how they work based on their own merits and on comparison to others.  Yeah it’s a rather abstract approach but I’ve been doing it for years and frankly I guess it’s become part of who I am.

So in short, for the purposes of this anime blog at least, my approach for shows will be more analytical than critical.  I’ll usually have a summary and it’ll be short, but for the most part it’ll be my thoughts on the episodes and on specific elements in my attempt to understand them.  This doesn’t mean of course that I’ll be unaffected in neutral in all this; I still like and dislike things, but in the end it’ll help in understanding why I like or dislike something.

Leave a Reply

