July 2, 2010

Summer 2010 Season

Posted in Anime tagged , at 12:32 pm by meotwister5

Ok time to get things started.  As most of you know Summer 2010 anime season just started like yesterday.  Since you’re reading this I presume you already know most of the stuff that’s coming out.  In case you don’t, take a good look at chartfag’s Summer 2010 poster at his blog.

Summer 2010 by Chartfag

With some prodding by people and one very pleasant surprise, here’s what I’ll be watching for Summer 2010:

1.  Ookami-san to Shichinin no Nakama-tachi – Episode 1 already came out and subbed the other day.  Suffice to say it was a very pleasant surprise for something that is actually rather generic.  This show will also likely be my first actual anime post of this blog’s currently short-lived life.

2.  Shiki – I’m a disciple of the Church of Ryukishi07, father of the (in)famous series Higurashi no naku Koro ni and it’s spiritual successor Umineko no naku Koro ni.  Granted the first season of Higurashi was teh suck and I adamantly refuse to acknowledge the existence of the Umineko anime (I played the Sound Novel).  This series actually has nothing at all to do with him, but the thing is the premise reminds me very much of his work, and even though I know next to nothing about Shiki, the interesting premise alone demands my attention.

3.  High School of the Dead – I read the early parts of the manga.  Lots of violence, blood, gore and fanservice.  What more could a guy ask for?  Actually much more, but hey I like myself my slasher flicks and my survival horror so this series is a try for me.

These are currently my only Must Try series so far.  2010 actually feels a bit lackluster as far as series go, unlike the previous few years.  Granted there’s almost always at least one series in each season that makes me regret what I say (Cross Game and Tatami Galaxy comes to mind), so I’ll end up trying most of the series anyway.  At the very least you’ll get episode 1 out of me.

Leave a Reply

